--- title: "Cancel bookings from Venue Manager" slug: "cancel-bookings-from-venue-manager" tags: ["How-to"] updated: 2026-06-16T14:55:05Z published: 2026-06-16T14:55:05Z canonical: "mysupport.roller.software/cancel-bookings-from-venue-manager" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://mysupport.roller.software/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Cancel bookings from Venue Manager Occasionally, you may need to cancel a booking on behalf of a guest. > [!NOTE] > The staff [permission](/v1/docs/create-and-manage-staff-roles-and-permissions) **Can cancel bookings** is required to cancel bookings in Venue Manager. This permission is enabled by default for the administrator and manager system roles and any custom roles based on these roles. ## Before you cancel - Canceled bookings can’t be reactivated — even after a hold period expires. Always create a new booking if needed. - To change items, [edit the booking](/v1/docs/edit-bookings-from-venue-manager) instead of canceling. - If payment was made, refund the guest before canceling. - Bookings can only be canceled after all items are refunded from POS. - Use Venue Manager to cancel without refunding (eg if the guest isn’t entitled to one). Once canceled, the space becomes available for other guests. [Embedded content](https://fast.wistia.com/embed/iframe/68fyq4qymv) ## Find the guest booking From Venue Manager, you can [search for and select](/v1/docs/search-for-bookings-guests-or-members-from-venue-manager) a guest's booking by typing their **Name** or **Booking** **ID** in the main menu search field. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/23700755-951c-4b69-8afe-ec8b33c6c689/Images/Documentation/11947748809871.gif) > [!NOTE] > From anywhere in Venue Manager, you can also use the keyboard shortcuts **alt + s (Windows)** or **option + s (Mac)** to open up the search records panel. ## Cancel the booking from Venue Manager From the guest booking, select the **options menu** (3 dots) at the top right, then select **Cancel booking**. A pop-up asks you to **confirm** this, as it cannot be undone. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/23700755-951c-4b69-8afe-ec8b33c6c689/Images/Documentation/11947696942735.png) > [!NOTE] > Once you cancel a booking, it can't be undone. You'll need to create a new booking if a guest changes their mind. ## After canceling - The booking status updates to **Canceled** - All tickets and reserved spaces are released and available for sale - If the booking had an active payment link, it expires automatically. Payment links are also automatically tracked as canceled. Invoices must be manually [marked as canceled](/v1/docs/how-do-i-cancel-an-invoice) in the activity stream — otherwise, they will still show as pending in the [Invoices report](/v1/docs/invoices-report). ## Related - [Can I reactivate a canceled booking?](/can-i-reactivate-a-canceled-booking.md) - [Streamline booking processes with tentative bookings](/streamline-booking-processes-with-tentative-bookings.md) - [Refund bookings from POS](/refund-bookings-from-pos.md) - [Assign staff members to bookings](/assign-staff-members-to-bookings.md) - [Restrict past booking modifications](/restrict-past-booking-modifications.md)