Documentation Index

Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://mysupport.roller.software/llms.txt

Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

Upgrade and downgrade memberships at POS

Prev Next

Give staff the ability to upsell guests to higher-tier memberships, or transition them to a lower tier if needed to retain a member. In this article, learn how to upgrade or downgrade a membership item at POS, and view the change in Venue Manager.

Before you start

To allow staff to upgrade or downgrade memberships, check the following:

  • Membership products contain two or more price tiers, set as variations (eg. Gold Membership = $50/month, Silver Membership = $35/month).

  • Ensure that the membership products are listed in POS menus.

To learn how to set up or check membership product settings see the guide Create a membership product.  To learn how to add products to POS menus, see the guide Create and edit POS menus.

Upgrade or downgrade memberships at POS

To upgrade or downgrade a membership at POS, follow the steps below.

Pro feature and above

Upgrade memberships with a Pro plan and above. To upgrade, contact your customer success manager or the support team.

Learn more

  1. Search for the membership holder's name in POS.

  2. On the left-hand side panel, select the Upgrade items option.

  3. A pop-up panel will appear on the right-hand side. Select the membership item you would like to upgrade or downgrade.

  4. Select the new membership product the guest would like to purchase and then select Upgrade item. This will create a new booking with the new membership product. The old membership product will be cancelled automatically

  5. If the guest is purchasing a higher-tier membership, the guest is charged a one-off, pro-rata fee immediately.

    • If this is a recurring membership, at the next billing cycle the guest is charged the higher membership fee.

    • If the guest is purchasing a lower-tier membership, the guest will receive a credit for the next billing cycle if a recurring membership is purchased. If a non-recurring membership is purchased, the difference will need to be refunded to the guest.

If the credit from a recurring membership downgrade is worth more than one billing cycle, only one cycle's value is applied automatically. It's the venue's responsibility to refund any remaining credit to the guest. See the guides Calculate pro-rata charges for membership upgrades to learn more.

View the change from Venue Manager

You can also view the membership upgrade or downgrade in Venue Manager. Follow the steps below.

  1. From Venue Manager, search for the membership holder's old booking number.

  2. Go to the Items tab. You will see that the original membership item is greyed-out and the status is listed as Upgraded.

  3. Select the grayed-out item. On the right-hand side of the screen you will see the membership details.

  4. Select the See upgraded membership option and you will be immediately taken to the new booking containing the new membership item.

Switch between one-off and recurring memberships

Switch from one-off to recurring (supported)

You can upgrade a guest from a one-off (fixed-price) membership to a recurring membership using the same Upgrade items flow at POS.

The guest is charged the flat difference between the one-off price and the first recurring payment, or if the one-off price was higher, the surplus is credited toward future recurring payments instead. Any minimum payment term on the new recurring membership still applies.

In Venue Manager, the old booking shows as Upgraded, the same as other upgrades.

Switch from recurring to one-off (not supported)

ROLLER doesn't support upgrading or downgrading from a recurring membership to a one-off membership in POS, online accounts, or Venue Manager.

To move a guest to a one-off membership you’ll need to cancel the recurring membership from Venue Manager or have the guest cancel from their online account (by default this takes effect at the end of the current billing period),

Following this, sell the one-off membership as a new purchase at POS or online checkout.

There's no automatic credit or pro-rata adjustment between the two transactions any goodwill credit for the unused portion of the billing period must be applied manually. In Venue Manager, the old membership shows as Terminated (or Pending cancelation until the billing period ends), and the new one-off membership appears as a new separate, unlinked booking.